Artists can illuminate the moral issues of our time by awakening a deeper, more distinct understanding of social, political and cultural injustices. As an artist, I explore contemporary social, cultural and political issues. Through my words and art, I attempt to create change.

My hope is that my work will stimulate thought and open eyes and hearts to our place in the world. I believe art gives our lives the focus that it desperately needs bring us face to face with ourselves. It prompts us to ask questions about the world that surrounds us, bringing us face-to-face with ourselves. This is where change begins. It seems that we live in a time when people commonly and unfortunately look past their basic values. My art is my reaction to that.

Awards, Honors & Grants

AWARDS

  • 2017 The Brico Fund
  • 2015 The Brico Fund
  • 2015 The Wisconsin Arts, Humanities and Historical Preservation Grant
  • 2014 The Kennedy Center's Partner is Arts Integration Education, University Of Wisconsin Whitewater
  • 2013 Freda B. Runyon Foundation / El Dorado, CA
  • 2013 Sr. Marcella Leadership Award / Omaha, Nebraska
  • 2010 University of Wisconsin School of Business Women Executive Leadership Summit 2010 women leadership recipient
  • 2009 Best Buy@15 Change Exchange Partner
  • 2009 Herzfeld Foundation
  • 2009 Wisconsin Arts education Concerned Citizen of the Arts award 2008 Uniquely ME! Girl Scout Self-Esteem Program grant
  • 2008 Quixote Foundation
  • 2007 Quixote Foundation
  • 2006 J.J. Keller Foundation
  • 2006 Quixote Foundation
  • 2006 Ford Foundation
  • 2004 Wisconsin Arts Board 

PRESS

  • Connecting Art to Social Justice, Gayle Wordland, Wisconsin State journal, Madison, Wisconsin November 8, 2015.
  • Artists Corner: Kelly Parks Snider: Artfully Empowering Young Women, Brava, June 2013.
  • Just Read It by Kelly Parks Snider, Wisconsin State Journal, May 15 2013.
  • Take Back Beauty by Olivia Steger, New Moon Magazine, May 2012
  • Book Review: Artist and Activist Kelly Parks Snider Launches a New Children’s Book: Zilly -review by Laura Lane, wordsbylaura.com.
  • Art Meets Activism, Two Moms Prove a Little Creativity Goes a Long Way in Empowering Teen Girls by Stephanie Emma Pfeffer, Family Circle Magazine, November 2011 Issue.
  • Changing What It Means to Be a Girl, by Doug Moe, Wisconsin State Journal, Oct. 10, 2011.
  • Wisconsin Academy Member Profile on Project Girl Co-creator Kelly Parks Snider, Wisconsin People & Ideas, the magazine of the wisconsin academy of sciences, arts and letters, Fall 2011 Issue.
  • Little women: How consumer culture is forcing girls to grow up too fast, US Catholic Article, April 2, 2012
  • Going your own way :Zilly reinforces an important concept by Sari Judge, Isthmus,  Madison, WI,  April 12, 2012
  • Girls challenge media's message by A. David Dahmer, The Madison Times, June 16, 2010.
  • How Can We Use the Media to Gift without Buying, Shaping Youth Beta Blog, Dec. 10, 2011 Project Girl educates adolescents to recognize advertising manipulation, The Pirate Tree, Dec. 16, 2011 by annange
  • Book Review: Zilly, a Modern Day Fable by Kelly Parks Snider review by Jessi Lusardi, Hardy Girls Healthy Women.
  • Project Girl co-founder to bring strong message by Julie Gilkay, The Post Crescent, April. 22, 2012
  • Teaching the Next Generation to Be Critical Consumers through Project Girl, Mollie Shambeau, Brava Magazine, Oct 2009.
  • Art Exhibit gives teen girls canvas for expression, Dani McClain, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Milwaukee, WI, October 24, 2009.
  • Girl Power Strikes Back, Gail Rosenbum, Star Tribune/Minneapolis/St. Paul, June 5, 2008.
  • Walker Art Center Magazine, 2008
  • Project Girl, Renee Wahlen Tillema, Inspire Magazine, January 2008, published by: Niche Publications, Inc.
  • You Go, Girl, Beaver Dam Daily Citizen, January 22, 2008.
  • Summer Quarterly 2007, Lyn Mikel Brown, Ph.D.
  • Artists Aim to Make Girls Media Savvy, Duluth News Tribune, April 2007.
  • Programs Help Girls Cut Tension, Capital Times, March 2007.
  • Project Girl: A Catalyst for Social Change, Martin Scanlan Ph.D., Wisconsin People & Ideas, Summer 2007, published by Wisconsin Academy of Science, Arts and Letters.
  • Girls and Modern Messages, Jacob Kushner, Wisconsin State Journal, Madison, WI, March 3, 2007.
  • Project Girl, Susan Troller, Capital Times, Madison, WI, January 11, 2007.
  • Girls in Pop Culture, Joan Fischer, Wisconsin People & Ideas, Winter 2007, published by Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters.
  • Countering Marketers’ Messages to Nation’s Girls, Margaret Krome, Capital Times, Madison, WI, March 2, 2007.
  • Inspired Interiors, Jennifer Garrett, Madison Magazine, September 2007, published by Madison Magazine.
  • Inspire Magazine, September 2007, published by: Niche Publications, Inc.
  • Local Arts Center to Open Ag Women-Inspired Show, Special to Daily News, Norfolk Daily News, Norfolk, NE, August 3, 2006.
  • Rural Women, Susan Troller, Capital Times, Madison, WI, August 9, 2005.
  • Wisconsin Academy Review, Summer 2000, published by Wisconsin Academy Sciences, Arts and Letters.
  • Roundtree Gallery art exhibit to honor Rural Women, Platteville Journal,  Platteville, Wisconsin.

ART WORKSHOPS & FACILITATIONS

Activism is the foundation for all of Kelly’s endeavors. Her objective is to educate communities about targeted issues in the hopes of shaking up the status quo, creating a catalyst, examining the questions that shape and inspire all of us. Kelly lectures nationally about art and activism and serves in artist-in-residence programs for  and produces workshops for all ages. Contact Kelly Parks Snider for further information.

  • 2015 Black Lives Matter Artist in Residency at University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee 
  • 2012 Wisconsin Book Festival
  • 2012 Fox Cities Book Festival
  • 2012  Madison Children’s Museum
  • 2010 Writers writing about: Self Empowerment / Mount Mary College
  • 2010 Spark Summit Hunter College / New York City, New York
  • 2010 Reclaiming Girlhood, University Of Wisconsin, La Crosse, Wisconsin2008
  • 2009  Walker Art Center / Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • 2008 Colby College/Hardy Girls / Waterville, Maine
  • 2008  Walker Art Center/Women with a vision: Past and Present Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • 2008 Perpich Center for Arts Education / Minneapolis, Minnesota 2008 University of Wisconsin Art Department / Madison, Wisconsin
  • 2008 Edgewood High School / Madison, Wisconsin 2008 Alverno College / Milwaukee, Wisconsin